LINK Regalsystem

Das LINK Regalsystem besticht durch seine Einfachheit und Funktionalität. Auf das Wesentliche reduziert erlauben die frei arrangierbaren Vollholz-Regalbretter und Hängevorrichtungen aus Stahl flexible und individuelle Konstruktionen. Ob spielerisch frei, asymmetrisch oder streng geordnet das LINK Regal passt sich verschiedenen Räumen und Anforderungen an. Der Kunde kann das Regals nach seinen Vorstellungen gestalten und nach Wunsch erweitern.

100% Wood, Natural and Sustainable

We only use solid wood from sustainable forests for the LINK shelf. Each shelf is unique, as the growth of every tree is by nature individual. Because we believe in using only natural, safe products, the shelves are never exposed to harsh chemicals such as formaldehyde and other harmful substances. For the surface treatment, we use only natural oils. In order to create a timeless product designed to last a lifetime, we are committed to using only carefully selected natural, solid woods. And consequently, the character of our handcrafted products will continue to develop further as they age.

Carefully selected wood, Ash

Indigenous to much of Europe, ash trees are deciduous and enjoy a lifespan of up to 200 years. They can reach a height of 40 meters, with a trunk diameter of about 1 meter. A precious hardwood, ash is used when the highest demands are placed on strength and elasticity. Thus, it is similar to oak, yet it has a brighter color. We use only the highest quality ash wood for our shelves, all of which has naturally been awarded the FSC label for sustainable forestry.

Ash – the World Tree

In Norse mythology, the ash has special significance as Yggdrasil, the world tree. According to the Icelandic heroic saga Edda, Yggdrasil’s branches reach far into sky, essentially covering all of Earth. The tree rests on three roots, which connect to three important springs. That of Mimir bestows wisdom and knowledge, while the gods hold court at the foot of Urðarbrunnr in the heavens. Below the third root lies Hvergelmir, from which all rivers are said to emerge. Even mankind originates from the ash in Norse mythology: from Ask (the ash tree), the gods created man; from Embla (perhaps the elm tree), they formed the first woman.

Carefully selected wood, Oak

Oaks are deciduous trees, which comprise up to some 600 species prevalent throughout the entire northern hemisphere. They can grow up to 50 meters high and reach an age of over 1,000 years. After beech trees, oaks are the most widespread broad-leaved trees in Germany, covering some nine percent of the nation’s plains and hills. Like beech and ash, oak is a hardwood and offers excellent weather resistance owing to its high level of tannin. Consequently, it is one of the main timbers used in building homes and furniture. For our shelves, we use only oak wood of the highest quality, sourced entirely from sustainable forests.

Oak – King of Trees

The mighty oak symbolizes values ​​such as durability, firmness, freedom, honor, power, paternal wisdom, virility, immortality, and willpower. Unsurprisingly, it has always had a special symbolic significance for mankind. In Christianity, the oak is considered the “Tree of Life.” In Germanic mythology, the oak served as the court tree, under which court was held for many centuries. It was hoped that the oak’s characteristics, as well as its proximity to the gods, would have a positive effect on the court’s ruling and righteousness.

Made Next Door

Studio Hausen is located in the former ballroom of an old factory in Weissensee, a locality in northeast Berlin. All parts of the Link shelving system are not only made in Germany, but even within a radius of 100 meters of our studio—practically next door. The solid ash or oak shelves are produced by the VIA workshop, similarly an institution for people with disabilities. Our close proximity with these workshops allows us to interact closely throughout the entire manufacturing process, ensuring final products of the highest quality. Furthermore, this greatly reduces the carbon footprint of our merchandise.

About the designer

Behind the design of the LINK shelving system is young designer Jörg Höltje, a figure poised to take the design world by storm—even before graduation from Berlin’s University of the Arts in 2009, he garnered experience alongside luminaries including Patricia Urquiola. In the years since, Höltje has added work for labels such as Ligne Roset, Alcantara and Camper to its CV, not to mention exhibitions of its pieces everywhere from London to New York. Still based in Berlin, Jörg Höltje´s international appeal is—like its straightforward, clever designs—very clear.

 TRUE BLACK  –  Biennale Interieur      Kortrijk 2016

The Studio Hausen debut at one of the most traditional design fairs in Europe. In front of a brilliant blue, Studio Hausen presented the
special version of the LINK shelving system TRUE BLACK for the first time at the Biennale Interieur Kortrijk in Belgium. In the group
exhibition “Berliner Zimmer”, curated by IDZ Berlin, nine selected Berlin design labels presented their latest designs.

Photos by Piet Albert Goethals and Frederik Vercruysse

 TRUE BLACK  –  Biennale Interieur      Kortrijk 2016

The Studio Hausen debut at one of the most traditional design fairs in Europe. In front of a brilliant blue, Studio Hausen presented the
special version of the LINK shelving system TRUE BLACK for the first time at the Biennale Interieur Kortrijk in Belgium. In the group
exhibition “Berliner Zimmer”, curated by IDZ Berlin, nine selected Berlin design labels presented their latest designs.

Photos by Piet Albert Goethals and Frederik Vercruysse

 TRUE BLACK  –  Biennale Interieur      Kortrijk 2016

The Studio Hausen debut at one of the most traditional design fairs in Europe. In front of a brilliant blue, Studio Hausen presented the
special version of the LINK shelving system TRUE BLACK for the first time at the Biennale Interieur Kortrijk in Belgium. In the group
exhibition “Berliner Zimmer”, curated by IDZ Berlin, nine selected Berlin design labels presented their latest designs.

Photos by Piet Albert Goethals and Frederik Vercruysse

 TRUE BLACK  –  Biennale Interieur      Kortrijk 2016

The Studio Hausen debut at one of the most traditional design fairs in Europe. In front of a brilliant blue, Studio Hausen presented the
special version of the LINK shelving system TRUE BLACK for the first time at the Biennale Interieur Kortrijk in Belgium. In the group
exhibition “Berliner Zimmer”, curated by IDZ Berlin, nine selected Berlin design labels presented their latest designs.

Photos by Piet Albert Goethals and Frederik Vercruysse

Studio Hausen @ Blickfang Hamburg

The Studio Hausen debuted for the first time on the Blickfang trade show at Hamburg’s Deichtorhallen from 13 to 15 November 2015. We took the opportunity to present the first time the four new product versions of the LINK shelf to the public. Here it also came to our first joint venture in which we offer shelf space for design collegues. The designer Milena Kling took the invitation to showcase her new collection of glass objects. www.milenakling.com

 

Studio Hausen @ Blickfang Hamburg

The Studio Hausen debuted for the first time on the Blickfang trade show at Hamburg’s Deichtorhallen from 13 to 15 November 2015. We took the opportunity to present the first time the four new product versions of the LINK shelf to the public. Here it also came to our first joint venture in which we offer shelf space for design collegues. The designer Milena Kling took the invitation to showcase her new collection of glass objects. www.milenakling.com

Studio Hausen @ Blickfang Hamburg

The Studio Hausen debuted for the first time on the Blickfang trade show at Hamburg’s Deichtorhallen from 13 to 15 November 2015. We took the opportunity to present the first time the four new product versions of the LINK shelf to the public. Here it also came to our first joint venture in which we offer shelf space for design collegues. The designer Milena Kling took the invitation to showcase her new collection of glass. www.milenakling.com

Studio Hausen @ Blickfang Hamburg

The Studio Hausen debuted for the first time on the Blickfang trade show at Hamburg’s Deichtorhallen from 13 to 15 November 2015. We took the opportunity to present the first time the four new product versions
of the LINK shelf to the public. Here it also came to our first joint venture in which we offer shelf space for design collegues. The designer Milena Kling took the invitation to showcase her new collection of glass objects. www.milenakling.com

LINK Regalsystem

Das LINK Regalsystem besticht durch seine Einfachheit und Funktionalität. Auf das Wesentliche reduziert erlauben die frei arrangierbaren Vollholz-Regalbretter und Hängevorrichtungen aus Stahl flexible und individuelle Konstruktionen. Ob spielerisch frei, asymmetrisch oder streng geordnet das LINK Regal passt sich verschiedenen Räumen und Anforderungen an. Der Kunde kann das Regals nach seinen Vorstellungen gestalten und nach Wunsch erweitern.

100% Holz, natürlich nachhaltig

Für unsere Regalbretter verwenden wir ausschließlich Massivholz aus nachhaltigen Forstwirtschaft. Jedes Regalbrett ist einzigartig, wie der Wuchs eines Baumes keinem anderen gleicht. In den Regalbrettern befinden sich keine formaldeyhdhaltige Kleber oder andere Chemikalien, die schädlichen Einfluss auf ihr Wohnklima haben. Auch für die Oberflächenbehandlung verwenden wir ausschließlich Öle auf natürlicher Basis. Um ein Produkt zu kreieren, das mit guter Pflege für die Ewigkeit hält, kam neben einem zeitlosen Design, für uns nur die Verwendung von Vollholz in Frage, das im Alter nur an Charakter gewinnt.

 

Hölzer, die wir verwenden, Eschenholz

Esche ist ein sommergrüner bis zu 40m hoher Baum mit einem Stammdurchmesser von ca. 1 Meter. Esche gehört zu den Edellaubhölzern und ist Europa weit verbreitet. Ein Eschenbaum kann bis zu 200 Jahre alt werden. Eschenholz wird besonders dann eingesetzt, wenn höchste Ansprüche an Festigkeit und Elastizität gestellt werden. So ist die Esche in ihren Merkmalen der Eiche sehr ähnlich, besitzt aber im Gegensatz zu Eiche eine sehr helle, modern anmutende Holzfarbe. Wir verwenden nur Eschenholz von allerhöchster Qualität für unsere Regalböden, die mit dem FSC Siegel für nachhaltige Forstwirtschaft ausgezeichnet sind.

Esche, der Weltenbaum

In der nordischen Mythologie hat die Esche eine besondere Bedeutung als Weltenbaum Yggdrasil.
Laut der isländischen Heldensage Edda reichen die Zweige der Yggdrasil über den gesamten Himmel und erstrecken sich über die ganze Welt. Der Baum ruht auf drei Wurzeln, unter denen drei Quellen entspringen. Die Quelle Mimirs verleiht Weisheit und Wissen, an der Quelle Urdbrunnen halten die Götter Gericht und unter der dritten Wurzel liegt die Quelle Hvergelmir, der alle Flüsse entspringen. Auch die Menschen stammen in der nordischen Mythologie von der Esche ab. Aus Ask, der Esche, formen die Götter den ersten Mann, aus Embla, vermutlich eine Ulme, die erste Frau.

Hölzer, die wir verwenden, Eichenholz

Eichen sind sommergrüne Laubbäume. Die Gattung der Eichen umfassen bis zu 600 Arten, die auf der gesamten Nordhalbkugel heimisch sind. Eichenbäume können bis zu 50 Meter hoch werden und erreichen ein Alter von über 1000 Jahren. In Deutschland sind die Eichen mit einem Anteil von neun Prozent des Bestandes im Flach- und Hügelland nach den Buchen die verbreitetste Laubbaum-Gattung. Eichenholz zählt wie Buchen- und Eschenholz zu den Harthölzern und hat auf Grund seiner hohen Gerbstoffanteil eine hervorragende Witterungsbeständigkeit. Eichenholz ist eines der wichtigsten Nutzhölzer für den Haus- und Möbelbau. Wir verwenden nur Eichenholz aus nachhaltiger Forstwirtschaft und von allerhöchster Qualität für unsere Regalböden.

Eiche, König der Bäume

In der Baumsymbolik steht die majestätische Eiche für Werte wie Standfestigkeit, Härte, Freiheit, Ehre, Kraft, väterliche Weisheit, Männlichkeit, Unsterblichkeit und Unbeugsamkeit. Eichen hatten schon immer eine besondere symbolische Bedeutung für die Menschen. Im Christentum galt die Eiche als Lebensbaum. Nach der germanischen Mythologie gilt die Eiche als Gerichtsbaum, unter dem viele Jahrhunderte lang Gericht gehalten wurde. Damit verband sich der Wunsch, dass die den Eichen zugesprochenen Eigenschaften und ihre Nähe zu den Göttern sich positiv auf die Urteilskraft und die Gerechtigkeit auswirken würden.

Made next door

Im ehemaligen Festsaal einer alten Fabrik in Berlin Weißensee befindet sich das Studio Hausen. Das Link Regalsystem wird nicht nur in Deutschland produzieren, sondern sogar in einem Umkreis von 100m um unser Studio herum, so zu sagen: „next door“. Die Böden aus massiver Esche oder Eiche werden in der Tischlerei der VIA Werkstätten Weißensee hergestellt, ein Werkstattverbund für Menschen mit Behinderung. Die räumliche Nähe erlaubt es uns das Produkt im engen Dialog zu verbessern, schnelle Lösungen zu finden und eine optimale Qualität sicher zu stellen.

Der Designer Jörg Höltje

Ein Designer, der die Designwelt im Sturm erobert: Hinter dem Design des LINK Regalssystems steckt Jörg Höltje. Noch als Student an der Universität der Künste gründete er sein Büro in Berlin und konnte vor seinem Abschluss im Jahr 2009 einschlägige Erfahrung bei Interiorgrößen wie Patricia Urquiola sammeln. Neben diesen Assistenztätigkeiten schnupperte der junge Kreative auch internationale Messeluft: Ausstellungen von London bis New York zeigen, dass seine Arbeiten großen Anklang finden. So zählen namhafte Labels wie Ligne Roset, Alcantara und Camper zu seinen Kunden – geradliniges und cleveres Design mit internationalem Anspruch.

Studio Hausen @ Blickfang Hamburg

Das Studio Hausen enterte die Hamburger Deichtorhallen zur Blickfang Messe vom 13. bis 15. November 2015. Mit im Gepäck hatten wir vier neue Produktvarianten des LINK Regalsystems, die wir exklusiv das erste Mal auf der Blickfang vorstellten und verkauften. Bei der Hamburger Blickfang kam es auch zu unserem ersten Joint Ventures, bei dem wir unsere Regalfläche für befreundete Designer zur Verfügung stellen. Die Designerin Milena Kling nutzte die LINK Regale, um ihre Glasvasen-Kollektion vorzustellen. www.milenakling.com